(513) 474-3811

Forest Hills welcomes new board members

During its January 7th meeting, the Forest Hills Board of Education welcomed Patty Taylor and Dr. Leslie Rasmussen as its newest members. Voters elected Taylor and Rasmussen to the Board in November and both were sworn-in during the organizational meeting.

Taylor and Rasmussen will work alongside current board members Elizabeth Barber, Demetria (Dee Dee) Choice and Dr. Forest Heis to provide governance to the district on policy and financial matters.   

“The individuals who serve on the Forest Hills Board of Education are undoubtedly devoted to the growth and advancement of our students,” said Scot Prebles, superintendent. “I am eager to work closely with the Board to continue to provide students with a high-quality education at a below average cost to taxpayers.”  

During the meeting, the Board elected Heis to serve as president. Choice will remain vice president for 2020.

Additional Board appointments included designating Heis as the legislative liaison, Taylor as the student achievement liaison, and Rasmussen as the Forest Hills Foundation for Education liaison. Barber will remain the safety committee liaison and Choice will serve on the Tax Incentive Review Council (TIRC). Each board member will participate in various district committees including the policy committee, finance committee, and human resources committee.

The Board of Education adopted a meeting schedule for 2020. Meetings will be held on the fourth Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the learning commons of Nagel Middle School, 1500 Nagel Road, unless otherwise noted.