Search
(513) 231-3600

School begins Sept. 4, buses back on the roads

August 27, 2018

When school begins on Tuesday (Sept. 4) for Forest Hills School District, approximately 60 Forest Hills bus drivers will begin transporting more than 3,500 students.  Each day, bus drivers travel 4,300 combined miles to nine district schools and 30 public and private schools.  

Because of this, Forest Hills is reminding motorists of school bus safety lighting system and Ohio laws regarding stopped school buses.  

Ohio uses an eight-light school bus warning system.  These lights are located on the front and rear of the bus by the “school bus” sign. When the bus is approaching a loading or unloading area, yellow lights will flash.  Red lights will flash when the bus is stopped to load or unload students and a stop arm will be extended from the side of the bus.

The alternately flashing yellow lights mean “caution” to motorists because the bus is preparing to stop.  The flashing red lights and stop arm mean “stop.”  Motorists are required to stop at least 10 feet from a stopped school bus that is displaying flashing red lights and a stop arm.

When a school bus stops to load or unload students on a road with one lane in each direction, or on a road with one lane in each direction plus a turn lane, all traffic must stop at least 10 feet from the bus.  Motorists may continue only after the school bus resumes motion. 

When a school bus stops to load or unload students on a road with two or more lanes in each direction, all traffic moving in the same direction must stop at least 10 feet from the bus.  Motorists may continue after the school bus resumes motion.  

Violation of the school bus stop law is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $500.  

For more information on school bus safety tips and Ohio laws, visit https://www.foresthills.edu/departments/transportation/bus-safety.html.

To ensure Forest Hills students have continuous transportation service, parents should notify the Registration Office, 7946 Beechmont Ave., of any address changes at least one week prior to the change being effective.  Address changes must be made in person and parents must show proof of residency (closing statement, property tax bill, mortgage statement, deed or lease agreement).